Annual Report

Group 20         
Western Sydney Region Veteran Golfers Association
Annual  Report  2014                                                               
Chris Evans  (Hon.Sec.)

2014 was our fifth full year of operation as the Western Sydney Region Veterans Group.

WSRVGA comprises nine Clubs, being Dunheved Glenmore, Leonay, Penrith, Richmond, Springwood, Stonecutters, Wallacia and Windsor. New club Dunheved was welcomed into the WSRVGA in October 2014.

At the November 2013 AGM, the following members were elected as the Executive:

President:                      Les Knox (Leonay)            
Vice Presidents:             Noel Byles (Richmond), Keith Wakefield (Leonay), John Lovatt (Glenmore)
Secretary/Treasurer:      Chris Evans (Richmond)

Our Mission is to foster Veterans golf in our region through a calendar of events hosted by member clubs and endorsed by the Association. We aim to encourage golf to be played in a spirit of keen competition and good fellowship with a strong emphasis on social interchange.

Membership growth during the year continued strongly with player numbers reaching 790 by September (an increase of 40 from 2013). Additional Clubs are likely to join us in the future.

Eight interclub events were held in 2014 although the Windsor event turned out to be a washout. Average playing fields were 138 (all shotgun starts). The Richmond Club were again our major sponsor and we played for the annual Richmond Club Cup, a team competition based on the best four individual scores by each club at each event. Australand Pty Ltd, the developer of the old Ashlar site, were also generous sponsors in 2014. Dunn and Farrugia, the fencing people of Penrith and an Australia wide company, continued as a third sponsor.

Each host club presented their course in excellent condition, with ground staff making that extra effort to support us. Convivialities in the clubhouse after each event were the highlight of the day. The high camaraderie between players from all member clubs is now well established.

The highlight of the year was Western Sydney hosting for the first time the NSWVGA State Strokeplay Championships. Despite some early wet weather, the tournament was a hugh success with 123 players from 51 clubs participating in the event. The response from the country clubs was especially gratifying. We learnt a lot from the experience and are aiming for a field of 140 players next year. The presentation luncheon at Stonecutters on the final day was a highlight.

Penrith Golf CLub Club hosted our final Club of the Year event in October. Leonay won their first Club of the Year title, narrowly from Richmond. Ladies Player of the Year was Betty Hudson (Richmond) with runner up Jean Kenyon (Glenmore) and the Men’s winner was Jim Lyons (Richmond) from Ian Gribble (Leonay).